BECOME A CORE MEMBER HERE

Author Topic: Gear Change Out  (Read 3569 times)

Offline jeepjunky68

• Visitor
Gear Change Out
« on: July 26, 2014, 05:26:33 PM »
Would anyone that is good with setting up gears be interested in helping me change my gears out? Going from stock 3.55s to 4.56's.

I have all the parts but not the tools. I can buy a press and a dial indicator if someone has a bearing puller for the pinion bearings.

I have never done this before and it would be nice to have someone experienced helping me. I would love to learn how to do this and save some coin at the same time. PM me if you can help. Thanks.

Offline ranier1315

• Visitor
    • Flameshots Photography
Re: Gear Change Out
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2014, 09:19:36 AM »
sorry no one has replied yet but you'll find out that changing gears is one of the hardest things to do on a rig. Not physically hard but a real PIA to get right. Shimming and messing with crush sleeves makes me cringe.
Marc, Tracy, Jordan, and Tyler Allen

"Some women are like scooters, you have fun ridding them, you just wouldn't want your buddies to see you ridding them......" - A very wise man.

Offline kvom

• Visitor
  • Kirk
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2014, 10:10:38 AM »
Not only that but no one has any idea where you are or what axles.  Assuming D35 in the rear at least no carrier break.  But D30 front carrier is 3.55 down.  I'm not too well-informed on Cherokees so someone else may chime in.

Without a lift handy you have to do the work on the ground.
00 TJ  stuff
02 F250 CC LB 7.3 tow pig
18 Honda CRV
12 Chrysler 200 - Wife's car

Offline DOUG

• Visitor
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2014, 11:47:40 AM »
Agree.  Only a few here do gears and they use their skill to make a living.  Hire a pro to set up gears and you might save in the long run.  Allsouth dies a great job with warranty.

Offline 94xjsport94

• Visitor
  • Cherocar
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2014, 11:51:27 AM »