BECOME A CORE MEMBER HERE

Author Topic: Dream Theater  (Read 1377 times)

Offline Matt

• Visitor
    • Georgia Trail Riders
Re: Dream Theater
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2008, 02:48:31 PM »
Daniel who is your influence?

I doubt those names would be at the top of many peoples lists.

BTW how many more hits did they have over metallica?
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 02:50:04 PM by Matt »
Matt, Jessica, Aleigha (4), Gavin (1)

1999 Wrangler TJ
*With modifications

My '99 TJ Build

matt@gatrailriders.com

Chris Hyde

« Reply #13 on: April 16, 2008, 02:54:23 PM »
"Hits" don't make a musician.  Pop/Mainstream music is a joke.  I laugh when I hear 30 people a day with the "Rockstar" ringtone from Nickelback.  I love wheeling, but my first passion is music.  I have been a musician for 15 years, have been in bands, recorded, been rocorded and up until last September, organized and hosted monthly concerts in Dalton for local underground bands.  Poll ANY good, well rounded guitarist and he will say one of his influences is Petrucci.  Poll any well rounded, progressive rock drummer and one of his influences will be Portnoy and another will me Peart.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 02:57:37 PM by Chris »

Chris Hyde

« Reply #14 on: April 16, 2008, 02:59:40 PM »
Out of 100, look who #1 and #11 are.
http://www.digitaldreamdoor.com/pages/best_drummers.html

Out of 100, look who #12 is.  I don't even see Kirk Hammett on the list.
http://www.digitaldreamdoor.com/pages/best_guitar-metal.html
« Last Edit: April 16, 2008, 03:03:06 PM by Chris »

Offline Matt

• Visitor
    • Georgia Trail Riders
« Reply #15 on: April 16, 2008, 03:59:34 PM »
Out of 100, look who #1 and #11 are.
http://www.digitaldreamdoor.com/pages/best_drummers.html

Out of 100, look who #12 is.  I don't even see Kirk Hammett on the list.
http://www.digitaldreamdoor.com/pages/best_guitar-metal.html