BECOME A CORE MEMBER HERE

Author Topic: How long after an interview do you wait to call?  (Read 449 times)

Offline Alex

• Visitor
How long after an interview do you wait to call?
« on: September 23, 2013, 01:47:26 PM »
I have been looking for a new job off and on for the last year.  I graduated from college a little over 2 years ago and I have been working with the same civil engineering firm since i graduated.  I am currently in a dead end job with bad pay and benefits.  The market is tough out there in the south east, and getting any responds from employers hasn't been great over the last year.  

Fast forward, over the last 2 weeks I have received 3 responses from employers wanting to interview me for a position.  I turned down the first offer because of the location and timing.  I performed the second interview over the phone and nailed it.  I was given an offer for an in person interview and was basically told that I was a perfect fit for the company and that they were going to extend me an offer when I came up for the visit.  I read a lot about the company, contacted a few people and discovered that they didn't have the best reputation in the engineering community (high turn over rate, working 50-60 hours a week, never giving people time off, etc.).  I am not thrilled with being expected to work 55 hours a week and only get payed for 40 (salary). Will be turning this down.