BECOME A CORE MEMBER HERE

Author Topic: Welding  (Read 955 times)

Offline BigMike

• Visitor
Welding
« on: February 02, 2017, 08:39:24 AM »
I want to learn to weld.  I used to be a heavy equipment mechanic a million years ago and could stick (arc) weld fairly decent.  I've never used a MIG or TIG welder but want to buy one.  First I want to learn how to weld using one.  I'll need help deciding which one to buy. 

I take on car/truck/motorcycle restorations every few years and that is the hobby that I'll be primarily engaged in when I retire in 9 years.  I plan to have a very large shop behind my retirement home.  I also want to install my own cage when I go down that road.  So basically I want to be able to weld sheet metal, metal plate, and tubing.

What welder - MIG or TIG

How much should I budget for a welder?

Where to learn to weld? - my buddy went to some adult education at a tech school in Cartersville or Rome about 10 years ago.

Offline Gerund

• Visitor
  • Jerald -- Lawrenceville
Re: Welding
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2017, 09:17:20 AM »
Seems we have similar interests but not starting off points.  I've never stick welded.  And, I'm much further from purchasing.

Still, I'll be very interested in the responses you get and what you decide on doing.

I have looked at both Lanier Technical and Hobart.   Lanier Tech is obviously local and they do offer night courses.  Hobart gives one and two week courses that seem appropriate.   They are in Troy, OH though - so it's a big commitment and expense.

Offline clark123456

• C.O.R.E MEMBER
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2017, 09:21:52 AM »
When I bought my welder, I contacted a couple of tech schools to try to audit a welding degree (set of classes).  They all wanted me to pay for full certification, not a smaller amount to just learn.  I went to YouTube, as you've seen my awesome welding skills.
Clark
1998 TJ Sahara

Offline Gerund

• Visitor
  • Jerald -- Lawrenceville