BECOME A CORE MEMBER HERE

Author Topic: Off road locations  (Read 2060 times)

Offline Fluevog

• Visitor
Off road locations
« on: June 06, 2012, 11:00:40 PM »
Hey guys I'm pretty new to offroading and live just to the north east of atlanta and don't really want to drive all the way up north to the mountains to go on trail rides with the group. If any of you guys know of some trails that are near atlanta in the northeast area that would be closer to me I would appreciate you telling me. Thanks </ARMATA/>

BigJerm

Re: Off road locations
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2012, 07:16:41 AM »
Sadly there are none. Anything near Atlanta like the power line roads people use are illegal. Other than a really private, invite only, off road park up 400 you are.looking at driving 1.5-2 hours for any parks or forest roads worth putting it in 4wd.

Offline Squirt-Truck

• Visitor
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 05:43:27 PM »
Even if we drive 1.5 -2.0 hours what is available?   (Some of us only make 45 MPH anyway.)

I would not mind a longer drive for a once or twice a year BIG ride of a couple of days.

Offline Lhub36

• Visitor
  • Nope wasn't me
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2012, 06:30:25 PM »
The closest ones to you are Beasley's Knob and durhamtown. Other than that, the forest roads in helen.
Lenn

Si vis pacem, para bellum

BigJerm

« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2012, 07:16:01 PM »
From Atlanta for a 2 hour(ish) trip lets see....

1. Beasley Knob (N.E. GA) closed Jan 1st - Mar 31st and closed after heavy rains
2. Durahmtown (E. GA) private park
3. Various forest roads above Helen but I really have not seen a road that is worth driving for the 4x4 part. Ok for day trips, hikes, picnics, but no road has been good enough to be the focus of a trip.
4. Morris Mountain (AL) private park open 2 weekends a month
5. Choccolocco Mtn (AL) private park
6. Great American off road park (Auburn, AL) private park, mostly mud from what I hear